Build your course in public with these 3 powerful strategies

Make Mondays Great Again #24

In this issue of Make Mondays Great Again I will talk to you about building in public. A skill I know is powerful to hold especially on social media.

Building in public is a great way to bring your audience along for the ride. You're not only sharing educational tips and techniques. You're also showing how you do things yourself.

One of the questions I’m answering today is HOW to build in public.

Unfortunately a lot of people, like myself, are discouraged from building in public.

One of my biggest worries is that the course will fail and not be a success.

The course could fail

Here are five of my fears that held me back from building the course in public.

  1. What if I don’t finish?

  2. What if no one cares?

  3. What if I become discouraged?

  4. What if someone steals my idea?

  5. What if I start sharing more than building?

But it’s important to remember that none of these things are the end of the world. So, what if no one cares? Then you either work hard to make them care or go on to the next thing, knowing how much you learned along the way.

Today, I started posting updates on the course and there are three ways I know building in public can work.

1. Share updates

One of the most important parts of building in public is to share updates, milestones and insights into the journey.

I have chosen to do that with an accountability thread on my Twitter page. Whenever I make progress on my course I’m going to add a new update to the thread. This will keep people invested in my journey, and I will hold myself accountable and see how far I’ve come.

But, you can choose any way to share updates.

It could also be through your newsletter, which I’m going to do as well along the way.

2. Create a form of accountability

Most often what stops people from fulfilling their goals is a lack of accountability.

It’s easy to give up on a project that no one is waiting for. But if you start to share it with other people, they will begin to cheer for you. And there will suddenly be someone else for you to let down if you don’t complete it.

My thread is going to keep me accountable too.

3. Give snippets and sneak peeks

Give away some of what you’re creating for free.

This creates excitement around your project. Excitement that could lead to future sales or mentions of your project. And also, people love getting free stuff.

But, make sure your free stuff is so good that they’ll be wondering how good your paid stuff is.

Okay, that’s it.

To build in public, I’m going to use these three ways:

  1. Share updates about what I’m building.

  2. Create a form of accountability to keep me motivated.

  3. Give snippets and sneak peeks away for free to get people excited.

Next week, I’m going to share how all that accountability is working out.

See you then.

Peter

Reply

or to participate.