Why I Built An Email Newsletter

Make Mondays Great Again #2

If you’re here to download the free guide Build An Online Newsletter, click on the button below.

Why I Built An Email Newsletter

In this issue of Make Mondays Great Again I’m going to talk to you about why I created an email newsletter. And I’m going to help you find your ‘why’, too, if you’re looking for a reason to start one yourself.

Finding your why in doing something creates a focus and a purpose behind what you do. You’ll create a product that you stand by and will continue to make and improve upon over time. By finding your why, you’ll not stop once you’ve started.

Unfortunately, many people start something and never finish it. I know I have many times. So, before diving in, let’s look at some of the things that have held me—and possibly also you—back.

People Loose Sight Of Their Purpose

When you’re starting to do something new, it’s fun and exciting. But, if you don’t find a purpose in doing it, you’ll quickly find that there isn’t enough of a reason to continue, once the fun and exciting beginning is over.

Here are 5 reasons I’ve quit things in the past:

  • It was more difficult than I thought.

  • People didn’t sound excited when I told them what I was doing.

  • Someone told me outright it was stupid or gave a similar impression.

  • I found a new interest and pursued that instead.

  • I made excuses as to why I didn’t have the time.

Even though these things have held me back in the past, I’ve made a decision not to let them now. I have stuck to writing online for almost two months now, I will show you how to keep up your spirits to do the same.

Here’s how to find your purpose, told step by step:

Step 1: Find a Problem You Want To Solve

Having a problem to solve, leads you to find many solutions. And if the problem you want to solve is big and complex, you’ll have something to work on for a long time.

In terms of my email Newsletter (the one you’re reading right now), there were multiple problems I wanted to solve. Here are 5 of them listed out:

  • I’m not writing enough.

  • I’m not learning enough about being a creator.

  • I’m not sharing enough of what I do.

  • I’m not making money doing what I want to be doing.

  • I’m not teaching enough about writing, being a creator, or living a creative lifestyle.

All of these things I saw a solution for in starting an email newsletter.

Step 2: Find A Reason Of Existence For What You’re Creating

Where many people go wrong when they’re creating an email newsletter is that they’re not thinking about the reasons for its existence. They’re thinking about the money they can make or the audience they can build—pure numbers.

If that is what happens, you’ll have one of those newsletters that end up in people’s spam folders lost forever in the void along with sleazy sales letters and scam-mail.

One of the reasons that I think my newsletter should exist is because I can build a platform that works as much for myself as it does for other people. Through the newsletter I’ll improve upon my self and my craft and help other people do the same.

Step 3: Find A Process That Is Fun And Challenging

Wouldn’t it be nice if you could do an email newsletter or whatever creative or productive endeavor you’re planning on pursuing, and have the process be not only fun, but challenging in a good way?

After finding out what problems you’ll be solving and the reasons for bringing your thing into the world, start thinking about the how.

What will your process look like?

What are necessary things that need to be done?

What things need to be done, just because you want do them?

Is there any way you can make that process fun and exiting?

If you think about what kind of stuff you like to do in your free time, or activities you found enjoyable when you were a child. Maybe some of those activities can create a more joyful way of going about your work.

For me, I like watching videos, and I could spend hours watching YouTube or TikTok. I try to bring that into my writing by using YouTube as a place for research.

But, I know how big of a rabbit-hole YouTube can be. So, I limit myself to 3 videos on the subject I’m researching.

I take short notes to each video and use those notes in my writing.

As a child I liked to solve puzzle books, and fill out questions in my school workbooks. So, I’ve created a framework for writing these newsletters, where it’s basically about answering questions and filling out templates.

Now, go find a way to make your process more enjoyable!

Weekly Resource - Justin Welsh’s Framework For Content Creation

Weekly Highligts

Free Resources

Until Next Time

I hope this was very helpful for you and it will help you discovering your purpose in even the smallest way.

For the first time I have some free resources for you to take and use—more to come in the future.

Reply

or to participate.