Niche: 3 Steps for finding yours and making it specific

Make Mondays Great Again #4

In this issue of the newsletter, I’m going to tell you how I narrowed down my niche, so you can follow my process and do the same yourself.

Finding your niche you’re trying to narrow down your target audience. Your writing will be influenced by this at every level. And it doesn’t matter if what you’re writing is fiction or non-fiction, posts on X, LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram or a personal blog.

I’ve had trouble narrowing down a niche in the past, because I felt like I wanted to write about all of my interests. I still can, but in a much more focused way.

When you write for everyone, you write for no one.

Not narrowing down a niche or a target audience will cause you to write things that:

  • Are too general.

  • Lacks a common thread.

  • Won’t make anyone feel seen.

  • Will throw some of your readers away.

  • Makes it hard for the reader to know who you are.

But all of these problems can be solved, if you decide on your niche and tailor your written content for them.

Recently, I wrote a reply to Katie Mironenko in which she called for writers to write their content for specific readers. I added the criteria for a niche laid out by Alex Hormozi in his book $100M Offers.

I used ChatGPT to narrow down my niche. Here’s an example of how you can do that too.

Here’s how find your niche, step by step:

Step 1: Find out who you’re helping.

If you don’t know who you’re going to help, you aren’t writing for anyone specific.

You’re writing stuff that you hope someone will like. I’ve recently changed my niche and I want to help aspiring writers. By doing that, I can now focus on trying to find out what most aspiring writers need help with.

And that is one of the ways I’m going to tailor some of my content, by asking questions to aspiring writers about what’s holding them back.

Step 2: Decide on what you want to help them with

This next one can be difficult, if you don’t have any data to work with yet.

I would say there are two ways of deciding on what to help your target audience with:

  1. By asking them directly.

  2. If you’re part of the target audience, look at the things you’ve been struggling with.

The problem I want to help beginning writers with is to get out of writer’s block and finish projects.

Step 3: Find a unique way of solving that problem

When you’ve decided on the first two, think about interesting ways of solving that problem.

You don’t want to solve it the same way everyone else does it.

For example, most people who write to beginning writers focus on having them start writing, and the starting is what will make them evolve.

By saying that I want to help beginning writers get out of writer’s block and finish projects by embracing structure and leveraging AI, I have positioned myself in a different way.

Weekly Resource

This weeks weekly resource is my atomic essay on part 2 of the $100M Offers Audiobook by Alex Hormozi, which I’m listening to for free on Spotify.

Link for the first episode below.

Weekly Highlight

Free Resources

Until next time…

Hope this simple framework of narrowing down your niche is helpful.

It’s always better to write to someone in specific.

This goes for writing fiction, non-fiction—whatever.

Reply

or to participate.